Rusting fabric

While looking for plexiglass at my local Lowe’s this week (to try some deconstructed etching), I found some great rebar pins that would be perfect to use to rust fabric.  After having looked at Do-It Center for items that might rust, with the help of unwitting gentlemen who happened to be shopping in the same aisles as I, and striking out (looking for potential rusty items, not with the gentlemen), I knew these would work.  They were already full of rust in the bag!  If I were the cashier, I would have had to ask why a lady would buy a bag of rebar pins and three pieces of 18″ rusty rebar.

Because I was impatient to know how well these would rust my fabric, I soaked the fabric in vinegar and left it all day in the sun in a black plastic bag.  I loved the results, although they didn’t cover much of the fabric.  Then I dyed the piece using low-water immersion to get a grayed-out look.  What I didn’t realize was that Safari Grey dye comes out a green shade, my favorite color!  Here is the piece I finished Monday.  I have another piece brewing in the sun right now and can’t wait to see the results.

safarigreyrust1.jpg

Leave a Reply

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 8 other followers

