Drawing 201–Day 2

I’ve started a drawing class at Pierce College in addition to the Illustrator/Flash class I’m taking to finish my web design certificate. Drawing 201 is the gateway to illustration and the other art classes that I want to take, but I wasn’t sure I had the time to take two classes. After finding out that there are 30 slots and 70 applicants for the class, I decided to keep my space (or sell it).

Our first assignment today was to take a pencil and paper (no eraser) and in 30 minutes, draw the person next to us. This is our beginner baseline drawing, which we will not see again until December 3, when we compare it to our final drawing.

Since I’ve done some portraits in fabric and thread and read a book on how to draw faces, it wasn’t that scary. There were some not-so-bad drawings (I include mine in that category), and some pretty bad ones (people setting a low baseline perhaps???).

Here is my neighbor who shall remain nameless to protect her identity (and pride):

Leave a Reply

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 8 other followers

