Tie Transfer Dyeing

In the October/November 2010 issue of Quilting Arts Magazine (which coincidentally had an article on page 68 featuring Beneath the Surface, an exhibit of which one of my quilts was a part!), Kathy Barinholtz has an article about “tie transfer dyeing.”  After seeing the results a friend of mine got using this method, I had to try it.

I laid out a piece of muslin on the table.  On top of the muslin I laid a white piece of Radiance fabric, which is silk and cotton woven together, silk side up.  Next I laid on top of the Radiance an assortment of ties that had the ends cut off.  I only covered half of the fabric, and used the uncovered piece to fold back over the ties to make a tie sandwich.

Next, I rolled the fabric and ties jelly-roll style as tightly as I could and tied it with a ribbon.

Then I put the fabric in an aluminum pot in let it boil in water and vinegar for 20 minutes. 

When it was cool, I washed the fabric and came up with some interesting results.

Today I found a fabulous armful of blue ties (with NO red in them) at the Goodwill store which I plan to transfer to beige silk dupioni fabric ASAP.  Stay tuned. . .!

Leave a Reply

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 8 other followers

