Art Quilt Tahoe 2011

I just returned from a wonderful week at Art Quilt Tahoe in Zephyr Cove, Nevada. This was my first trip to AQT and my third to Lake Tahoe. Paula Chung, who lives just two miles from AQT, was my hostess for the week.

Loris and Paula by Lake Tahoe
Paula and I both studied with Valerie Goodwin, who uses maps as her inspiration. Valerie is a college professor who teaches senior architecture, so taking her class is like taking a college level art class. She arguably gives the best crits I’ve ever had in any of my art classes or quilt workshops.

Valerie Goodwin
My workshop piece was based on a map of Washington, D.C., my hometown. It is about 36″ x 30″ and will use a color palette I based on the paintings of Modigliani.

Washington, D.C.
At the end of each day we were treated with beautiful sunsets. If there are no clouds, there is a still an orange haze over the mountains that reflect off the lake.

Sunset
This is how my piece looks today. After the pieces are all stitched down to the crinoline background, I will add sheers and paint it. I also have a trick up my sleeve that will be added last. Tune in for results at a later date!

The District

1 Comment »

  1. How intriguing! Thank you for posting these great photos, Loris. I can’t wait for the surprise!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 7 other followers

