International Quilt Festival/Houston 2012

Because I missed seeing my art quilt Cosmic Gears displayed at the International Quilt Festival/Long Beach, and because my older son lives in Houston, and because I had a free airline ticket, I decided it was time to revisit the Houston IQF.  I was there many years ago as a new quilter and don’t remember seeing the quilts; instead, it turned out to be a major shopping fest for me.  Apparently most of the women at the show this year were new quilters too, because the quilt display areas stayed sparsely populated most of the time.  I heard someone suggest they just forget the quilt displays and make it a vendor show!  This time I spent a long time looking at the quilts, buying very little (scissors and some Thai sheers), and taking very few photos.  Because I tend to take many many photos that I never revisit, I decided instead to focus on the quilts in person.

First let me say that the whole festival is overwhelming.  I took a class the first day and went to Preview Night.  Once I was able to find my classroom, and later stroll through the quilt displays, I started to feel the show was a bit less daunting.  After spending two days at the show, I can understand why it’s easy to stay the whole time, Tuesday through Saturday in order to see everything and experience a class or two.

George R. Brown

The witches were there in full force the first day (Halloween):

Witch

Some with a sense of humor (those are Handi Quilter stickers):

As an aside, I was struck by the artistry of the Hyatt Hotel elevators where I attended a reception put on by Karey Bresenhan, founder of the show:

Here I am with my friend from home, Gayle Simpson, at the reception Friday night.  Gayle and I were able to hang out together all day Friday.  Fun!

Saturday my son Dave and I drove out to LaGrange to see the new Texas Quilt Museum.  On  the way we had to stop at Round Top for lunch:  a shrimp BLT and an ice-cream topped pecan pie.  YUM!

The Texas Quilt Museum is a gem in a small town.  The founders won an award for their restoration of the building, which has the most gorgeous pine floors you’d ever want to see.  There are about 40 bed-sized quilts dating mostly from 1835 to 1865 to 1930 on display.  It was such a beautiful setting and there was such craftsmanship in the quilts that I came away proud to call myself a quilter.

I understand visitors to HIQF book their hotels a year in advance.  But thanks to Dave and his Hotel Hunt, I have a permanent booking any time I want to return.  Maybe I’ll have to go more often than every 15 years. . .

Leave a Reply

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 7 other followers

