The Huntington

Yesterday I visited the Huntington Library along with a group of my watercolor friends and fellow students.  We were soon separated, and just as well, because I became one with my camera, taking photos all afternoon long at my own pace (and sans smoke from the Springs Fire about 70 miles away).

The estate is huge, with a number of buildings that house the permanent exhibit as well as temporary exhibits, one of which is called When They Were Wild, and was the one I came to see, so it’s almost impossible to stay with a group.  When They Were Wild is a collection of botanicals painted in the early 20th century, mostly in watercolor.   Also, in my life drawing class we’ve been practicing drawing draped fabric, so I spent some time examining the “best collection of British art outside England,” particularly the portraits (Blue Boy is one of them) and the draping of the clothing.  How did they do that without a photo to preserve the folds???

Here is the Japanese garden, not quite as nice as the one we put in our backyard, but good enough.

huntington_20130503_0280-web

I’m always looking for interesting textures and found some in the trees’ bark.

huntington_20130503_0283-web

huntington_20130503_0294-web

huntington_20130503_0296-web

And the lines created by this hanging moss intrigued me.

huntington_20130503_0209-web

And here is a rather funky photo because it’s taken in the Conservatory and shows the glass roof, my shadow, the reflection of the roof on the water’s surface, and the fish under the surface.

huntington_20130503_0190-web

It was a beautiful yet hot day, but nothing that couldn’t be quenched by an ice cold jasmine tea on the banks of the Chinese garden, made better by my stop at Dick Blick on the way home to drool over art supplies.  I splurged on a tripod portable easel for the outdoors that can be tilted flat to do watercolor.  Maybe some plein air painting this summer, although I’ve never tried it before.

Leave a Reply

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 7 other followers

